top of page

What’s The Best Way to Discipline a Child?


Disciplining a child is a common debate whether a punishment is worth for the child to learn from his mistakes. In my case, I grew up without being spanked or experienced any forms of punishments from my parents. When I commit mistakes, my parents will just scold me and after I cry they will tell me in a low tone voice that what I did wasn’t right. And mind you, I grow up with good dispositions in life without experiencing any forms of physical discipline from my parents. I believe it depends on how your parents raised you.

Many parents have misconceptions between disciplining and punishing a child. Parents think that a punishment is an effective way to discipline a child but that isn’t true. In fact, in most cases parents who lay their hands on their children tend to become more unruly and disobedient as they grow up.

As the saying goes respect begets respect. You have to gain mutual respect as well as with your child to fully understand his mistakes and do the proper way. Hitting your child or taking advantage of any harassing techniques could fear your child and find more ways to sneak out to misbehave in the future. When you know how to control yourself, you can gather your thoughts and find a better way to explain your child’s misbehavior.

Implementing child discipline can be challenging, especially when you cannot attain the results you desire for your child to behave well. But if will be easier if you teach your child the right from wrong in a calm manner instead of laying your hands on him.

bottom of page